Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 16 of 16

Joseph Bryan Memorial Service and Window Dedication Program

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00209
Scope and Contents

Program for the "Memorial Service to Joseph Bryan and Dedication of the Window given by his Fellow=Laborers on The Times=Dispatch" held at Emmanuel Church, Henrico County, Virginia, June 27, 1909.

Dates: 1909 June 27
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....
Dates: 1786-1939
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Colonial Festival Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 161
Scope and Contents

This collection includes schedules, invitations, and programs for the Colonial Festival held by the College of William and Mary and the City of Williamsburg, Virginia.

Dates: 1921, 1953-1961
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Office of the Dean of Women Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...
Dates: 1928-1974
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

School of Education Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 25
Scope and Contents

This collection contains subject files, publications, reports, and other material related to the School of Education at the College of William and Mary. The collection includes correspondence from the Dean's Office, photographs of special events, committee reports, and records of the Historic Triangle Substance Abuse Coalition (HTSAC).

Dates: circa 1930-2008
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Farrar Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.71
Scope and Contents The collection includes letters, contracts, deeds, wills, St. Luke Penny Bank medallions, cemetery plot receipts, plans, blueprints, photographs, birth and death certificates relating to members of the Farrar family of Richmond, Virginia. Daniel James Farrar (1862-1925) had a profound effect on the architecture of the city of Richmond. Daniel followed the example of his father, Joseph who was the son of a free black. Farrar was involved with at least 14 buildings in the 1890’s as designer,...
Dates: 1875-1964
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Edward R. Jones, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01262
Scope and Contents Letters, 1861-1898, bulk, 1861-1864, of Edward R. Jones, Jr. of Co. K, 95th Pennsylvania Volunteers. (Col. John M. Gosline's Pennsylvania Zouaves) written to his mother, aunt, cousin, and William Butt, Jr. Letters were written from Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. and describe camp life and battle, express his views on the war, and discuss family affairs. Includes a description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and Jones' part at the Battle of Fredericksburg (1862). He also...
Dates: 1861-1898, circa 1992
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grace Warren Landrum Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.013
Scope and Contents

This collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and other material related to former College of William and Mary Dean of Women Grace Warren Landrum from 1890-1995. Also included in the collection are dance and banquet programs; information about the dedication of Landrum Hall; and programs, news clippings, and photographs relating to the Matthew Whaley School from 1931-1932.

Dates: 1890-1995
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26
Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis;...
Dates: 1938-1995
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt.

Dates: 1621-1949; Majority of material found in 1800's
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Matthew Whaley School Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 0/2 Mss. 1.11
Scope and Contents

This is an artificial collection of material from and about Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia including material from the annual fifty year reunions. The school newspaper, The Powder Horn, 1930-1937 and 1946-1948, is available in Rare Books call number AN47 .W54 P68.

Dates: 1850-2012 and undated; Majority of material found in 1880-1960
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...
Dates: 1930-1998
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Dates: 1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...
Dates: 1858-2015
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Programs X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Programs 15
Correspondence 11
Photographs 10
Reports 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
∨ more
Broadsides 4
Financial records 4
Invitations 4
Legal documents 4
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Minutes 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Newspapers 3
Notebooks 3
Pamphlets 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Scrapbooks 3
Speeches 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Women--Education--Virginia--History 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Announcements 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Maps 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Surveys (documents) 2
Theater 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Post Office 2
Wills 2
Women college students 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Account books 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--Richmond--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battle of Gaines' Mill, 1862 1
Battle of Locust Grove, 1862 1
Battle of Malvern Hill, 1862 1
Battle of South Mountain, 1862 1
Battle of West Point (Ga.), 1865 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Booklets 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Buildings and Grounds--Landrum Hall 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Calendars 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Catalogs 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary. 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
∨ more
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Allison White and Company 1
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Booth family 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Centenary Church 1
Clark, James W. 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. University Archives. 1
Daily Press (Hampton Roads, Va.) 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Etheridge, Jeanne 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Farrar family 1
Farrar, Daniel James, 1862-1923 1
Farrar, Joseph E., 1830- 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
Forrest Family 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Jackson, Yvonne Lucas 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Jones, Edward R., Jr. 1
Landrum, Grace Warren, 1876-1951 1
Langton, Helen 1
Lewis, Cotesworth P. 1
Longwood University 1
Lucas, Alma Rachel Margaret Farrar 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Meade, Robert Douthat, 1903-1974 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Pedersen, Thelma 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Richmond Times-Dispatch (Va.) 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 1
School of Education 1
Simpson family 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Titanic (Steamship) 1
Todd family 1
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Valentine, Edward Virginius, 1838-1930 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
West, Francis 1
West, John 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wilson, Leah Farrar, 1864-1964 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
+ ∧ less